Seeds of Hope Gala

SEEDS OF HOPE GALA 2020 Celebrated the NAMI-NYC Family!

We had a wonderful evening with our host Kelly Ripa, our honorees Nathan Romano, Jumaane D. Williams, and our special guests Chris Cuomo, Stacey Griffith, Aija Mayrock, Javier Muñoz, Peppermint, Dr. Jennifer Ashton, and Claudia Bell!

You can still support NAMI-NYC’s vital programs for families and individuals affected by mental illness.

We are short of meeting our goal. Please make a donation today.
Because #MentalHealthMatters more than ever before.

To make a donation through a Donor Advised Fund, please contact Sarah Sheahan at
NAMI-NYC’s Tax ID is 13-3077692

You Make Hope Possible

On behalf of the Board and Staff of NAMI-NYC, we thank you for your support.  With funds raised from friends and family like you, NAMI-NYC is able to help families and individuals affected by mental illness Build Better Lives through education, support, and advocacy programs, available free of charge to anyone who needs them.
Because #MentalHealthMatters more than ever before.

Seeds of Hope Gala 2020

Watch the replay here

Our Special Guests

Kelly Ripa hosted the event. Special Appearances by: Chris Cuomo (CNN anchor, “Cuomo Prime Time”), Stacey Griffith (SoulCycle Senior Master Instructor), Aija Mayrock (poet & writer; author, “Dear Girl”), Javier Muñoz (actor & activist; “Hamilton”) and Peppermint (actor, recording artist, LGBTQ+ activist). Additionally, Kelly Ripa joined Dr. Jennifer Ashton (ABC News chief medical correspondent) and NAMI-NYC member Claudia Bell for a special conversation about healing and life after suicide. Auctioneer Harry Santa-Olalla lead the gala’s live donation pledging. NAMI-NYC board member Stacy Helfstein serves as gala host committee chair.

We were pleased to honor Nathan Romano, President and COO of York Capital Management and NAMI-NYC Board President Emeritus, with the Mental Health Visionary Award, and New York City Public Advocate, Jumaane D. Williams with the Ending the Silence Award. We also honored the NAMI-NYC Community of Volunteers for their leadership and commitment to building better lives each day.

Host Committee

Stacy Helfstein – Chair 

Claudia Bell | Sarah Berner | Chad DeMartini | Jodi DeVito | Jamie Dinan | Emily Gindi | Gary Julien | Michelle Kedem | Greg Leveto | Lauren Levison | Josh Neren | Raeshem Nijhon | Deepak Penesetti | Timothy Price | Zoya Raynes | Christiana Riley | Josh Romano | Claire Rost | Alyzia Cohen Sands | Anita Hill Sands | Jeff Schoenfeld | Alexandra von Plato


Thank you to our Seeds of Hope 2020 Sponsors!

Diamond – Steven & Shelley Einhorn | Pershing Square Capital Management

Platinum – Paul Dalio | The DeMartini Family | Deutsche Bank | Morgan Stanley | Publicis Health | Nathan Romano | York Capital Management | Zadig & Voltaire

Gold – Stacy & Jason Helfstein | Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP |  Jefferies | Jeff Schoenfeld & Matt Holbein | Gaurav & Elizabeth Seth | Howard Spilko | WarnerMedia

Silver – Arougheti Bly Charitable Fund | Bank of America Merrill Lynch | Credit Suisse | Joyce & Barry Cohen | Goldman Sachs |  JP Morgan | Andrew & Susan Monshaw | Josh Neren | Neurocrine | UBS

Patron – Michele Allison | Argo Group | Barclays | Timothy & Katryn Barefield | Deloitte | Chad & Leigh DeMartini | Marjorie D. Eagan | GFP Real Estate | Gracie Square Hospital | Healthline | Cornelia Kiley | Colleen Lauria | Greg Leveto | Milbank | NCheng | OBERLAND | Timothy Price | Life is Priceless Foundation | Barbara Ricci | Mark St. George | David & Sheryl Spanier

Additional Support – Alight Solutions | Michelle & Steve Bergman | CarVal Investors | Christopher Condelles | Culture.House | For Like Minds | Janssen | Lyfebulb | Izzy Goncalves & Katherine Ponte | Peter Lacalamita | Medscape | Anita Hill Sands | Raymond Schwartz | Adam Stern | Stifel | UnitedHealthcare

Board of Directors

Cornelia Kiley & Raymond Schwartz, Co-President | David Shapiro, Vice President | Andrew Monshaw, Treasurer | Michele Allison, Secretary | Nathan Romano, President Emeritus

Christopher Condelles | Chad DeMartini | John DeNatale | Mitul Desai | Marjorie Eagan | Stacy Helfstein | Kunaal Kanagal | Colleen Lauria | Howard Lenn | Greg Leveto | Josh Neren | Katherine Ponte | Timothy Price | Anita Hill Sands | Howard Spilko | Mark St. George | Drew Train

Executive Director: Matt Kudish